Understanding the Six Sigma Certification Levels

Understanding the Six Sigma Certification Levels

The Six Sigma Certifications are a sign of expertise and professionalism when it comes to management. The certifications are divided into different levels and are colour-coded in a way similar to martial arts like taekwondo and karate. Each colour indicates that the individual has achieved a different level of proficiency when it comes to incorporating the concept of Six Sigma to the work environment. We’ll go into detail of what each belt colour entails down below:

White Belt

The White Belt indicates that one has a basic understanding of Six Sigma and can implement it on a personal level but not in any group setting.

Yellow Belt

At this level, an individual is more well-versed in the methodologies and theories of the Six Sigma Principle. They can use the process to improve a small scale workgroup.

Green Belt

At the Green Belt level, individuals are familiar with the concepts of Six Sigma, including the tools and methods of implementation as well as general applications. The Green Belt Certification requires an individual to pass a written exam in order to be issued an official license.

Black Belt

An individual with a Black Belt in the art of Six Sigma can use all the tools and management techniques and find practical uses for them in any given situation. At this level, the person is much more proficient in a management position and can contribute greatly to any organization.

Master Black Belt

The Master Black Belt is the highest level of the Six Sigma Certifications. A person with this certificate can mentor instructors of the Six Sigma courses and help to improve the work process of any organization. A person must have held the Black Belt certificate for at least five years and work with at least 10 Black Belt-qualified projects before they can apply for the Master Black Belt exam.

How to Become a Leader Using the Six Sigma Principles

Anybody can reach the level of Master Black Belt if they are hardworking and dedicated to the improvement of themselves and those around them. They need to keep an open mind and always look to make everything around them better. This is the key idea of Six Sigma that will help one to become the best leader for an organization.

Before you can take the Black Belt examination, however, you will need to understand the requirements for how to pass the Green Belt Qualifications. We will go into the details of this process down below.

The Duties of a Green Belt

The Green Belt is the transitional phase between being an amateur and an expert on the concept of Six Sigma Principles. Therefore, you will need to have amassed enough knowledge and expertise to show the organization that you know everything there is to know about Six Sigma.

The methodology of Six Sigma follows the concept of the acronym “DMAIC”:

  • Define – Define an issue and challenge the traditional concept
  • Measure – Quantify success based on measurable results
  • Analyze – Use scientific data to create hypotheses and analyze the implications
  • Improve – Be relentless about achieving greatness and absolute success
  • Control – Be in control of the improvements and follow the new process

Familiarizing yourself with the DMAIC concept is the most important thing that a Green Belt apprentice can do, as it will help you to have a more thorough understanding of how Six Sigma principles work. It’s essential that you have this concept in mind, as it will help to be more proficient with the idea of Six Sigma and enable you to become a much more effective leader.

What a Master Black Belt Does

Once you have reached the Master Black Belt, you will be equipped to become one of the executive counsellors or adviser of an organization. You will need to have a thorough understanding of the concept of the business and how the Six Sigma process can be adapted to fit with the direction the company plans to move forward.

A Master Black Belt will fill the role of a facilitator who aims to help every department in the organization to work more in tandem with one another. This will ensure that you can get a smooth, streamlined, and stress-free work process that will act as a backbone to any growing company.

If you’re looking to learn more about the Six Sigma Yellow Belt program, Six Sigma Green Belt program, or Six Sigma Black Belt program get in touch with us today to see how we can help.  At Leanoveering we provide the training to achieve each of the Six Sigma certification levels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *